Nick’s Story

This Summer

Nick Schweitzer

This past summer, I had the blessed opportunity to work at SpringHill as a New Frontiers Counselor for middle schoolers. Throughout the summer, God kept blowing my mind week after week with how He could move in and through those at camp to transform the lives of the campers. By presenting the Gospel to campers each week, the relentless and unconditional love of Jesus Christ was put on display for campers to experience — sometimes for the first time. It was so awesome to see many of the campers open up their hearts to Jesus to experience His love and letting Him work in each of their lives in very powerful ways. For some, this meant being vulnerable and exposing sins and other things they struggle with in their lives. For others, it meant committing their life to Christ for the first time. To see God work so powerfully that a camper would go from maybe not ever knowing about Jesus Christ and His unconditional, relentless love to being determined in pursuing Him, learning more about Him, and drawing nearer to Him has to be the coolest thing ever!

In seeing how these campers were impacted by the love of Jesus Christ and the Gospel, I was able to see God in new ways. There were layers to the Gospel that I had never seen before and new depths to layers I knew about that allowed me to draw nearer to God and to experience His love in new ways too. He even used the campers and what they were struggling with to show me about myself, where I’ve been, and who I have become since committing my life to Christ 15 months ago as some of them are struggling with things I used to struggle with. I came to SpringHill to serve, not to be served. But God did His crazy awesome thing, and I could not have asked for a better summer where I got to witness His love being showcased in so many powerful ways!

 

Leave a Reply

