Chris’ Story

From this Valley

Chris Lemoine

14890356_10208181910322420_3377496966323665649_o.jpg

Going to college is a lot like climbing a mountain. We all start as a freshman at the bottom and pick our own paths to get to graduation. We do our best to prepare ourselves for the journey: we plan what classes we are going to take and where we want to spend our extra time without stretching ourselves too thin carefully placing one foot in front of the other. However, amidst our greatest efforts in preparing, what are we supposed to do when we are knocked off our path by an avalanche? What do we do when after the snow has cleared and we realize that it’s impossible to get back to the path we were originally on? On January 10th, I met with my advisor to discuss the process of applying to the nursing program. Within 1 minute of sitting down in her office, I was informed that I would not be able to apply to the nursing program because my GPA was not sufficient. So, here I am. I’m back at the bottom of the mountain with no hope of applying to any sort of traditional nursing program. I know that It would be easy for me to be frustrated. It would even be easy for me to blame God for my hardships. But, this is the thing about the God we serve:

Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know that plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

1 Thessalonians 5:18 “Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

Proverbs 3:5-6 “Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding, in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.”

Jesus Christ, this amazing, all powerful savior of the world is no less holy and no less magnificent. He has a plan for my life and His plan is perfect. So, I will praise HIM not just from the mountaintop but also from this valley and although one door has just been shut. I will dance in the hallway and praise Him until He opens a new door.

THIS IS WHY I WORSHIP.

Leave a Reply

