Megan’s Story

Megan Kilts

Easter Baptism Story!

megan_pic

I grew up in a Christian home, attending church with my mom, and was saved when I was 5 years old. My parents got divorced when I was 6, which was a very difficult time for my mom and me. I have struggled for a long time with anger towards my father and it is something that God is still working on in my life. As I got older, I became very involved in my youth group. I felt completely accepted by the older students there, some of whom are still close friends of mine. Unfortunately, my youth group went through many messy transitions between youth pastors, as did our church in regards to senior pastors. During these times, many students would stop attending, although some stuck it out. Luckily, my last youth pastors poured into me and encouraged me to volunteer with the middle school youth group. The summer before I came to college, however, was challenging because these new ministers ended up leaving as well. I was devastated, but God used this time as a period of growth for me, helping me trust in him. I ended up leading the youth group for the summer along with a family friend until I came to college, something I never would have imagined myself doing a year prior.

I have seen God work in amazing ways in my life over the past few years and I’ve grown immensely. Coming to a secular college has really helped me make my faith even more my own and I have had to lean on God a lot more. I have had to seek out my own church and Christian community and I have seen God answer my prayers in so many ways, from helping me find CM and good friends, to providing for me with finances and a ride to Life Stream Church on Sunday mornings. I have been blessed with an amazing Life Group, an RA who connected me to CM, the opportunity to go on a Spring Break trip to Dallas, and a roommate with many similar interests as me. Just seeing the Lord’s provision for me in coming to GVSU has really strengthened my faith.

I have felt God calling me to be baptized for a while now, and I believe that it is the perfect way to acknowledge my faith to both my community of believers and my friends who aren’t Christians. I want to take that next step by acknowledging that I am striving to follow and trust in God’s plan for my life and be obedient to his call. Even if I sometimes cannot see what it is that God is doing, I know that his plan is greater than anything I could ever imagine up for myself. I am choosing to lay down my worries at his feet because his ways are higher than my ways and his plans are higher than my plans. I love the lyrics from the song “Trust in You” by Lauren Daigle: “When you don’t move the mountains I’m needing you to move, I will trust in you” and this is the anthem I will keep singing.

Leave a Reply

